New EBIC leadership announced

At the EBIC General Assembly held in Dublin on 1 July 2014, EBIC’s members renewed the association’s board of directors. Six members of the board were (re-)elected, with an additional member continuing a two-year term after election in July 2013.

President: Giuseppe Natale (Valagro) was re-elected for a two-year term. | Giuseppe Natale’s biography

Vice President: Benoît Genot (Arysta LifeScience) was elected for a two-year term after previously serving as EBIC’s Secretary/Treasurer. | Benoît Genot’s biography

Secretary/Treasurer: Francisco Miguel (Atlántica Agrícola) was elected for a two-year term. | Francisco Miguel’s biography

Directors-at-large (elected for a two-year term excepted where noted otherwise):


 EBIC has also appointed new leaders for two of its technology task forces

Nicolas LindemannNicholas Lindemann (Tradecorp) is the new head of the Task Force on Salts, Minerals and Chemicals. This task force leads discussions on critical issues related to substances that can produce effects regulated under more than one regulatory framework (often referred to as “borderline substances”).

Franco-Brazilian Nicolas Lindemann studied agronomy at INA-PG in Paris before starting his career at SGS Switzerland, where he evolved through a variety of functions between 1992 and 2001, with his main role being in surveys and inspections management in the agricultural sector. He was also one of the pioneers of SGS’ collateral management system of custodial agreements for agricultural commodities. While at SGS, he worked in Brazil, Tanzania, France and Portugal.

In 2001, he created his own company in finance in France and later (in 2005) a second enterprise in structured finance in agriculture in Brazil. He sold the French company in 2008 to dedicate himself primarily to structured finance in Brazil.

In 2010, he was invited to join the Tradecorp team as Executive Director for the International Division and factories. He still holds this position within Sapec Group today.

Silvia FernandezSilvia Fernandez (Koppert Biological Systems) is the new head of the Task Force on Micro-organisms. A key priority for this task force is the continuing dialogue on risk assessment of products containing micro-organisms, although it is also concerned with borderline issues.

Since April 2013, Silvia Fernandez has been International Regulatory Affairs Manager at Koppert Biological Systems. With a doctorate in biological sciences, she began her career as a research entomologist. While working for Monsanto, she evolved from a research role into scientific affairs (as an environmental expert) and then regulatory affairs. While at Monsanto, she served for four years as the Chair of the Environmental Risk Assessment Working Group (ERAG) at EuropaBio, the European Association for Bioindustries.

Biographies of all the new leaders can be found in the attached PDF media release. Please contact the EBIC secretariat for more information or high-resolution photographs.

Comments are closed.